Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) is the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States. It is intended to be used in all clinical settings by clinicians of different theoretical orientations. It can be used by mental health and other health professionals, including psychiatrists and other physicians, psychologists, social workers, nurses, occupational and rehabilitation therapists, and counselors. DSM-5 can also be used for research in clinical and community populations. It is also a necessary tool for collecting and communicating accurate public-health statistics.

DSM consists of three major components: the diagnostic classification, the diagnostic criteria sets, and the descriptive text.

Diagnostic Classification

Diagnostic Criteria Sets

Descriptive Text

History of the DSM

Learn more about the history of the manual


Visit the DSM-5 website to find information about the development and status of the fifth edition. The site contains a detailed summary of the events and individuals involved in the revision process as well as updates and corrections (e.g., changes in coding) to the published manual.

Contact Us

Contact us at DSM5@psych.org for questions, comments, or suggestions.

Transition to ICD-10

Effective October 1, HIPAA-covered entities are required to use ICD-10 codes. View information and guidelines to help you transition to ICD-10 using DSM-5.